The Clock Tower Four Levels and Interpretation

The Clock Tower Four Levels

The four Levels of The Clock Tower are:

Literal Comprehension

This is a poem written by the Nepalese poet Bhupi Sherchan, later translated by Padma Devkota. In this poem the old pensioner, the veteran was compared with the Clock Tower/Ghantaghar.

In the past, when minimum people had a watch they only used the Ghantaghar to know the time. But now everyone has a watch or a mobile phone and Ghantaghar is worthless.

Similarly, when an old retired pensioner was young, working in the military force he was honored and respected. He was too faithful and happy.

But now he is old, alone, being too much sad. He mostly used to remember two events from his past. First is, he used to ride a horse putting on a hat and second is his old round pocket watch.

But now both the Veteran and the Clock Tower are unrespected by the people.


This poem presents the old pensioner’s experiences of his life. It presents the power of time and we are indirectly dominated by time and we have to run our lives according to time.

It says it is important for objects in human life. And, most, mostly it taught us that, no matter how much good we are, we are not important all the time.

Critical Thinking

This poem is interesting to read and gives us the importance of objects in human life.

And the interesting experience of the old pensioner. However, some unsatisfied statements with this are,

  • How can we compare human beings with objects?
  • Are all objects useless when they are old?
  • Are all old men not respected and sad when they are old? Because according to our societies, we respect and love all old men. And, if they did patriotic work they are always in our hearts.


I did not think “The Clock Tower” would hit me that way. Before reading this text, I used to think that I was very powerful, handsome, beautiful, and long-lasting.

But after reading this text, it is just a time we have. And what is beautiful in our life is time and our age.

Leave a Comment