UK Cost of Living for Students: London vs Outside London

The UK cost of living for students, as the Home Office measures it, is £1,529 a month in London and £1,171 a month outside London, rising to £1,570 and £1,203 for Student visa applications made on or after 30 November 2026. Universities’ own 2026-27 estimates are often higher: King’s College London suggests about £1,770 a month and the University of Manchester about £1,510. The visa amount is a minimum you must show in the bank, not a promise of what life will cost.

Last checked: 20 October 2026. Rupee amounts use the NRB selling rate, 17 Oct 2026 (GBP 1 = Rs 202.99).

UK cost of living for students: the visa amounts

GOV.UK’s Student visa money page sets the living-cost amounts you must show, for up to 9 months. “London” means the City of London and the 32 London boroughs. The money must be held for 28 consecutive days, ending within 31 days of your application.

Where you studyApplications before 30 Nov 2026Applications on or after 30 Nov 20269 months (from 30 Nov), about NPR
London£1,529 a month (£13,761 for 9 months)£1,570 a month (£14,130 for 9 months)Rs 28.68 lakh
Outside London£1,171 a month (£10,539 for 9 months)£1,203 a month (£10,827 for 9 months)Rs 21.98 lakh
Sources: GOV.UK Student visa money page (current amounts) and Statement of Changes HC 584, Appendix Student ST 12.3, effective 30 November 2026.

The increase comes from Statement of Changes HC 584, which changes the amounts in Appendix Student from £1,529 to £1,570 and from £1,171 to £1,203 from 30 November 2026. Applications made before that date are decided under the rules in force on 29 November 2026. Our maintenance increase explainer covers the visa side in detail; this page is about what living actually costs.

London vs other cities: what universities estimate

Each university publishes its own estimate, using different methods and time periods, so compare them with care. We have kept each figure exactly as the university states it, with the period it covers.

City (university)Official estimatePeriod / yearAbout NPRSource
London (King’s College London)£1,770 a month average (range £1,331 to £2,342); accommodation about £1,164 of that2026-27Rs 3.59 lakh a monthKCL living expenses
London (UCL)UCL undergraduate self-catered halls average £320 a week; shared private housing £650 to £1,300 a month excluding bills; other essentials about £426 a month including a zones 1–2 TravelcardCurrent UCL guideHalls: Rs 64,957 a weekUCL cost of study
Manchester (University of Manchester)£1,510 a month (£18,188 a year); private accommodation with utilities about £836 a month2026/27, postgraduate, 52 weeksRs 3.07 lakh a monthManchester living costs
Glasgow (University of Glasgow)£1,100 to £1,700 a month to live and studyPublished August 2026Rs 2.23 to 3.45 lakh a monthGlasgow cost of living
Cardiff (Cardiff University)Undergraduate: £1,304.80 a month in university en-suite halls, or £1,125.91 a month in a private shared house2026/27 (halls over 40 weeks; private over 52 weeks)Rs 2.65 lakh / Rs 2.29 lakh a monthCardiff living costs calculator
Birmingham (University of Birmingham)Essential costs £185 to £221 a week (including rent), plus variable costs of £110 a week42-week session; year not statedRs 59,882 to 67,190 a week in totalBirmingham living costs
Leeds (University of Leeds)£134 to £217+ a week for a single student, rent from £90 a weekCurrent estimate; year not statedRs 27,201 to 44,049+ a weekLeeds budget and costs
Figures exactly as published on each university’s page, checked 20 October 2026. Methods differ, so treat them as guides. NPR at the NRB selling rate, 17 Oct 2026.

What the numbers tell you

  • London’s real average is above the visa minimum. KCL’s 2026-27 average of £1,770 a month is £200 more than the new £1,570 visa figure. Rent drives most of the gap: KCL puts accommodation alone at about £1,164 a month.
  • Outside London is cheaper, but not by as much as the visa amounts suggest. Manchester’s £1,510 a month estimate is close to London’s visa figure, though it covers a postgraduate student over 52 weeks.
  • Cardiff, Leeds and Glasgow show a lower starting point, but the top of each range overlaps with the bigger cities.
  • Halls vs private housing changes everything. In Cardiff, the private shared-house estimate is about £179 a month less than en-suite halls.
  • Contract length matters. Some figures run over 40 or 42 weeks, others over 51 or 52. Postgraduates usually need a full year of rent.

How to build your own budget, step by step

  1. Start with your university’s own page. Use the estimate for your exact university and level, and note whether it counts 9 months or 12.
  2. Price your rent first. Check the halls fee list or local private rents. Our UK student accommodation renting guide covers deposits and contracts.
  3. Add transport. London is the big one: UCL lists a zones 1–2 Travelcard at about £119.90 a month.
  4. Add one-off costs. The visa fee and immigration health surcharge are separate. See our UK student visa cost from Nepal.
  5. Compare with the visa amount. Show at least the GOV.UK figure, but plan to spend what the university says.
  6. Convert to rupees with the latest NRB rate, and add a buffer for exchange-rate moves.

For Nepali students and families

At today’s rate, the new London visa figure for 9 months (£14,130) is about Rs 28.68 lakh, and the outside-London figure (£10,827) about Rs 21.98 lakh. But KCL’s 9-month average of £15,930 is about Rs 32.34 lakh. Families should plan for the higher number, not the visa minimum.

Part-time work helps, but the hours are capped during term. Read UK student visa work hours 2026 before you count on wages. For the full picture of studying in the UK from Nepal, start with our study in the UK guide.

Common mistakes

  • Treating the visa amount as a budget. It is the minimum UKVI wants to see in your account.
  • Using the wrong rate for your application date. Applying for a January 2027 start on or after 30 November 2026 means the higher £1,570 / £1,203 amounts.
  • Guessing whether your campus counts as London. GOV.UK means the City of London and the 32 London boroughs; check where your campus actually is.
  • Comparing a 40-week halls figure with a 52-week private figure as if they were the same.
  • Forgetting the months after your course if you plan to stay on, for example on the Graduate route.

What to do next

  • Open your university’s cost-of-living page and write down the figure for your level and year.
  • Check whether your visa application will fall before or after 30 November 2026.
  • Plan your bank funds and the 28-day holding period with your sponsor early.

Frequently asked questions

How much money do I need per month to live in London as a student?
For the visa, £1,529 a month, or £1,570 for applications on or after 30 November 2026. King’s College London estimates an average of about £1,770 a month for 2026-27.

What is the UK student visa maintenance amount outside London?
£1,171 a month for up to 9 months, rising to £1,203 a month for applications made on or after 30 November 2026.

Is it cheaper to study outside London?
Usually yes. Glasgow estimates £1,100 to £1,700 a month and Cardiff about £1,126 to £1,305 a month for undergraduates, compared with KCL’s London average of £1,770. Manchester’s postgraduate estimate is £1,510.

How much is the UK student living cost in Nepali rupees?
At the NRB selling rate on 17 Oct 2026, 9 months at the new London rate is about Rs 28.68 lakh and outside London about Rs 21.98 lakh.

When does the UK student maintenance increase start?
On 30 November 2026, under Statement of Changes HC 584. Applications made before that date use the old amounts.

Sources

Last checked: 20 October 2026. This is general information, not financial or immigration advice. Rupee amounts change with the exchange rate.

Related Articles

Responses

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *