Education Loan in Nepal for Study Abroad: How It Works (2026)

An education loan in Nepal for study abroad is usually a secured loan: a bank lends against land, a building or a fixed deposit, pays the money to the university as per its fee structure, and charges interest linked to its base rate. The UK, Canada, Australia and the US all accept education loans as part of your financial evidence, but each has its own rules on what the loan letter must say and when the money must be available. Get the loan right for the visa, not just for the bank.

Last checked: 17 October 2026. Bank terms and interest rates change every month; confirm with the bank before you sign.

How an education loan in Nepal for study abroad works

Many Nepali commercial banks sell a product simply called “Education Loan”. The details differ, but the official product pages of three large banks show the same basic shape:

  • Collateral. Land and/or a building, with Lalpurja (land ownership certificate) and maps. NIC Asia Bank also accepts a fixed deposit held with it in the student’s or a close relative’s name.
  • Margin (how much they lend against the collateral). NIC Asia lends up to 80% of the fair market value of land or building, or up to 90% of a fixed deposit’s principal. NMB Bank lends up to 70% of the fair market value of the collateral, as valued by the bank.
  • Who borrows. Usually a parent or guardian with income is the borrower or co-borrower. Banks check that the family can pay the EMI. Nabil Bank, for example, says the EMI must not exceed 50% of gross income after other loan payments.
  • Disbursement. Nabil Bank says the loan is “disbursed as per institutions’ (Colleges/Universities) fee structure”. In practice that means tuition goes to the university in instalments, not as one lump sum into your pocket.
  • Moratorium. Some banks let you pay only interest while studying. Nabil allows a moratorium of up to 4 years or the course length, whichever is earlier. NIC Asia offers an optional moratorium with interest-only payments.
  • Tenure. Up to 20 years at Nabil and NIC Asia, and up to 15 years at NMB.
  • NOC. For study abroad, Nabil and NIC Asia both ask for the Ministry of Education no-objection letter. See our NOC for study abroad guide.

What three Nepali banks publish (official pages)

FeatureNabil BankNIC Asia BankNMB Bank
Maximum loanUp to NPR 1 crore (10 million)NPR 3 lakh to NPR 1 croreNot stated; capped by collateral
Lending against collateralNot stated on pageUp to 80% of land/building value; up to 90% of FDUp to 70% of fair market value
Maximum tenure20 years20 years (plus moratorium)15 years
MoratoriumUp to 4 years or course length, whichever is earlierOptional, interest onlyNot stated
DisbursementAs per the university’s fee structureNot statedNot stated
Age rule18 at start, up to 70 at maturity18 or older, up to 80 at maturity18 to 50
Sources: each bank’s official Education Loan page, checked 17 October 2026. “Not stated” means the page does not say; ask the bank.

How the interest rate works: base rate plus premium

The bank rate sheets we checked quote floating education loan rates as the bank’s own base rate plus a premium. The base rate is recalculated regularly, so your EMI can rise or fall during the loan. Two official rate sheets show how this looks:

  • Nepal SBI Bank lists its education loan at base rate + 2.00% to 4.00% (floating), with a three-month average base rate of 5.11% applicable from 1 Kartik 2083 (18 October 2026). It also lists fixed options of 9.99% (up to 5 years), 10.49% (5 to 10 years) and 10.99% (over 10 years).
  • Prabhu Bank‘s Bhadra 2083 sheet lists an education loan premium of 1% to 3% over its base rate, and says the rate is revised automatically from the first day of every month.

The premium you get within that range depends on the bank’s view of your file. Always ask for the exact premium in writing, and ask whether a fixed rate has a prepayment fee. Nabil, for example, states a 0.75% prepayment fee on fixed-rate loans.

How visa officers view education loans

A loan is not automatically “good” or “bad” evidence. Each country checks different things.

UK

Under Appendix Finance, a student loan counts if it comes from a government, a government-sponsored student loan company, or an educational loan scheme run by a financial institution regulated to issue student loans. For an overseas loan, that means regulated by the official regulator in the country where the institution operates. The loan letter must:

  • be dated no more than 6 months before you apply;
  • confirm it is a student loan made to you, and state the amount;
  • confirm the only condition for releasing the money is a successful visa application;
  • confirm the money will be available to you before you travel, or paid directly to the university before you travel, with any living-cost part available by the time you arrive.

GOV.UK’s financial evidence guidance shows that a student loan is proved by this letter, not by the 28-day bank balance rule. Two Nepal-specific warnings follow from this. If the loan is in your parent’s name rather than yours, it may not meet the “loan made to the applicant” condition; the money might instead need to sit in your parent’s account and be shown as parental funds with their written consent. And if the bank’s letter adds conditions such as “subject to mortgage registration”, it may fail the “no other conditions” test. Ask your university’s CAS or compliance team to check the draft letter before the bank signs it.

Canada

IRCC’s proof of financial support page lists “a student or education loan from a bank” as acceptable proof. You still have to cover first-year tuition plus living costs: CAN$23,448 a year for one person outside Quebec for applications on or after 1 September 2026 (about Rs 25.22 lakh at the NRB selling rate, 17 October 2026). A loan works best alongside clear bank statements and a short letter of explanation describing how the family will repay.

Australia

Home Affairs’ genuine access to funds page is direct: “The best evidence of genuine access for a loan is disbursement.” Education loans should be paid out according to the agreement between you, the bank and the education provider. If payment happens before the visa decision, show the loan terms and the full amount you will get. For other loans, show the security used, the loan terms, and that you can meet the repayments. Study Australia lists the minimum savings figure as AUD 29,710 for 12 months of living costs (about Rs 31.48 lakh at the NRB selling rate, 17 October 2026). For the full list, see our Australia financial documents guide.

USA

The State Department’s student visa page says the consular officer may ask for evidence of “how you will pay all educational, living and travel costs”. Study in the States notes that no federal regulation specifies exactly what evidence is required, and gives family bank statements, sponsor documents and financial aid letters as examples. A loan sanction letter can be part of that evidence, but your university decides what it accepts before issuing the I-20. Check our F-1 financial documents guide.

Step by step: getting a visa-ready education loan

  1. Get your offer and exact costs first. Banks ask for the offer letter, I-20 or fee structure (Nabil and NIC Asia both list this).
  2. Work out the total you must show. Use our student visa money calculator to convert tuition plus living costs to rupees.
  3. Compare at least two banks. Ask each the questions in the next section.
  4. Prepare collateral and income papers. Lalpurja, maps, tax receipts for the land; salary, rent, business or remittance income proof for the borrower.
  5. Get the property valued. The bank values the collateral; the loan amount depends on that value and its margin.
  6. Get the Ministry of Education NOC if the bank requires it before disbursement for abroad study.
  7. Ask for a sanction letter worded for your country’s visa rules. Show the wording to your university before you submit.
  8. Plan disbursement dates. Make sure tuition reaches the university before its deadline, and know when the living-cost part is released.

Questions to ask the bank before you sign

  • What is your current base rate, and exactly what premium will my loan carry?
  • Is the rate floating or fixed? Is there a prepayment or early-closure fee?
  • What margin do you lend against my land, building or fixed deposit?
  • Do you pay tuition directly to the university? In what currency and in how many instalments?
  • Is there a moratorium? Do I pay interest during it?
  • Can the sanction letter be in the student’s name, state the amount, and say the only condition is a successful visa?
  • What are the processing, valuation and documentation fees?
  • What happens if the visa is refused: can the loan be cancelled, and what fees are lost?

Common mistakes

  • Taking a loan that cannot be explained. If the EMI is clearly more than the family’s income, a visa officer may doubt the plan, even if the bank approved it.
  • A loan letter with the wrong wording for the UK. Old dates (over 6 months), extra conditions, or a loan not made to the student.
  • Showing a sanction letter only, for Australia. Home Affairs says disbursement is the best evidence.
  • Forgetting the living-cost part. Many loans cover tuition only. You still need to show living costs.
  • Comparing only the headline rate. The premium, fees and floating base rate decide what you really pay.
  • Counting the loan twice. If the loan amount is also sitting in a bank account, show it once and explain clearly.

What to do next

Get your exact cost from the university, read your destination’s official funds page, then ask two banks for written terms. If you are unsure how much to show in total, start with how much bank balance you need to study abroad.

Frequently asked questions

Can I get an education loan in Nepal without collateral?
The official pages of Nabil, NIC Asia and NMB all describe secured loans backed by land, a building or (at NIC Asia) a fixed deposit. If a bank offers an unsecured study loan, ask for its terms in writing.

What is the interest rate for an education loan in Nepal?
It changes, often monthly. Floating rates are quoted as the bank’s base rate plus a premium. For example, Nepal SBI Bank lists base rate + 2% to 4%, and Prabhu Bank lists a premium of 1% to 3%.

Does the UK accept a loan from a Nepali bank?
It can, if the lender is regulated to issue student loans in Nepal and the letter meets Appendix Finance: dated within 6 months, loan made to you, amount stated, and no condition other than a successful application.

Is an education loan good for a Canada study permit?
Yes, IRCC lists a student or education loan from a bank as proof of financial support. You still need enough for tuition and CAN$23,448 for living costs (from 1 September 2026, outside Quebec).

Should the loan be disbursed before my Australian visa?
Home Affairs says disbursement is the best evidence of genuine access for a loan. If it has not been paid out yet, show the loan terms and the full amount you will receive.

Sources

Last checked: 17 October 2026. NPR figures use the NRB selling rate, 17 October 2026. This is general information, not financial or immigration advice.

Related Articles

Responses

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *